Home / Sonoma Wine Appellations & Vineyard Property

Sonoma County Wine Appellations: A Guide for Vineyard Buyers

By Matthew Martinez, Founder, CEO & Managing Broker, Diamond Real Estate Group. California DRE #01869679.

Sonoma County has 19 American Viticultural Areas (AVAs), the federally defined grape-growing regions whose names can appear on a wine label. They run from Sonoma Valley, created in 1981, to West Sonoma Coast, added in 2022, and many of them overlap. For a vineyard buyer, the appellation shapes what the fruit can sell for; the county’s zoning, planting and water rules decide what the land can do.

AVAs in the county
19 (Sonoma County Winegrowers, 2026)
Oldest
Sonoma Valley, 1981 (27 CFR 9.29)
Newest
West Sonoma Coast, 2022 (27 CFR 9.283)
Shared with other counties
Los Carneros (Napa), Petaluma Gap (Marin), Pine Mountain-Cloverdale Peak (Mendocino)
2025 average grape price
$2,762.88 a ton, Sonoma and Marin (CDFA crush district 3)
Label rule
“Sonoma County” must accompany an AVA lying wholly inside the county (since January 1, 2014)

How do Sonoma County’s appellations fit together?

Read them as four overlapping families inside the North Coast AVA, a six-county region of roughly 3 million acres. One vineyard can sit inside three or four AVAs at once, and its fruit can carry any of those names it qualifies for.

Northern Sonoma family

Northern Sonoma (394,088 acres after 2011) contains the Russian River Valley, which contains Chalk Hill and Green Valley. Rockpile overlaps Dry Creek Valley, and Pine Mountain-Cloverdale Peak overlaps the north end of Alexander Valley.

Coastal family

Sonoma Coast (1987) contains West Sonoma Coast (2022), which contains Fort Ross-Seaview (2011). Sonoma Coast also overlaps most of the Russian River Valley.

Sonoma Valley family

Sonoma Valley (1981) holds Moon Mountain District Sonoma County, Sonoma Mountain and 96.6% of Bennett Valley.

Southern edge and Fountaingrove

Los Carneros crosses into Napa and the Petaluma Gap into Marin. Apart from the North Coast, Fountaingrove District overlaps no other AVA.

Each AVA starts as a petition to the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB), goes out for public comment, and ends as a boundary in Part 9 of Title 27 of the Code of Federal Regulations. New areas are usually drawn inside old ones.

Every Sonoma County AVA: year, CFR section and size

Years are Treasury Decision publication dates, sizes are TTB’s, and vineyard acres are Sonoma County Winegrowers’ current counts.

AVAEstablished27 CFRTotal size (TTB/ATF)Vineyard acres (SCW)
Sonoma Valley1981§9.29Not stated5,565
Dry Creek Valley1983§9.64Not stated8,055
Los Carneros (with Napa)1983§9.32Not stated6,481
Chalk Hill1983§9.52Not stated1,491
Knights Valley1983§9.76Not stated2,496
Russian River Valley1983§9.66About 169,028 acres (after 2011)13,896
Green Valley of Russian River Valley1983§9.57Not stated2,860
Alexander Valley1984§9.53Not stated15,000
Sonoma Mountain1985§9.102Not stated667
Northern Sonoma1985§9.70394,088 acres (after 2011)Not listed
Sonoma Coast1987§9.116Not stated4,725
Rockpile2002§9.17315,400 acres192
Bennett Valley2003§9.1428,140 acres700
Pine Mountain-Cloverdale Peak (with Mendocino)2011§9.2204,570 acres310
Fort Ross-Seaview2011§9.22127,500 acres555
Moon Mountain District Sonoma County2013§9.231About 17,663 acres1,500
Fountaingrove District2015§9.250About 38,000 acres600
Petaluma Gap (with Marin)2017§9.261About 202,476 acres4,000
West Sonoma Coast2022§9.283About 141,846 acres1,028
North Coast (six counties)1983§9.30Roughly 3 million acresNot listed

“Not stated” means no total appears in the TTB documents we could read; the CFR itself describes boundaries, not acreage. TTB’s Moon Mountain rule gives two totals, 17,663 acres and, in its summary, 17,633.

Russian River Valley, Green Valley and Chalk Hill

When TTB enlarged the Russian River Valley in 2005, it called fog “the single most unifying and significant feature” of the area and placed it in the “coastal cool” range of 2,000 to 2,800 degree days (TTB, 2005). The association counts 13,896 vineyard acres.

The boundary has moved more than once. It grew from 96,000 acres to about 126,600 in 2005, then by 14,044 more in 2011 on a Gallo Family Vineyards petition that drew 133 opposing comments out of 171 (TTB, 2011). That 2011 rule puts the total at about 169,028 acres, more than the earlier figures add up to, so check a parcel against the current boundary, not an old map.

  • Green Valley of Russian River Valley lies entirely inside the Russian River Valley and Sonoma Coast AVAs. It was approved in 1983 as Sonoma County Green Valley and took its current name in 2007. The association calls it “very tightly delineated, both geographically and climatically.” Subject to the 85% rule, its fruit can carry five names: Green Valley of Russian River Valley, Russian River Valley, Northern Sonoma, Sonoma Coast or North Coast.
  • Chalk Hill fills the Russian River Valley’s northeast corner near Windsor. TTB’s 2015 Fountaingrove decision gave it similar temperatures and terrain to Fountaingrove but soils formed mainly from river deposits; the association calls it “somewhat warmer,” with less fog.

For homes and land in the area, see our Sebastopol real estate guide.

The northern valleys: Alexander, Dry Creek, Knights, Rockpile and Pine Mountain

Northern Sonoma mixes broad valley floors with ridges above the fog, and that shows in block size, frost exposure and access.

Alexander Valley

Alexander Valley (1984) has the most vineyard of any AVA on the association’s list, about 15,000 acres, and its signature grape is Cabernet Sauvignon. Its boundary has been amended five times, most recently in 2008. TTB’s 2011 Pine Mountain decision put the valley floor at about 260 feet near the Russian River, with some vineyards of 100 acres or more. The boundary uses seven U.S. Geological Survey maps, among them Jimtown, Geyserville and Healdsburg; our Geyserville guide covers the town.

Dry Creek Valley and Knights Valley

Dry Creek Valley (1983), in north-central Sonoma County, has 8,055 vineyard acres by the association’s count. It “drains exceptionally well,” and its grapes are Zinfandel, Sauvignon Blanc and Bordeaux and Rhône varieties. About 2,500 acres at its northwest corner are also in Rockpile.

Knights Valley (1983) fills the county’s northeast corner against the Lake and Napa lines. TTB described it in 2015 as warmer than Fountaingrove, with broad stream valleys and river-deposit soils. The association names Cabernet Sauvignon, Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanc.

Rockpile and Pine Mountain-Cloverdale Peak

Rockpile (2002) covers 15,400 acres at or above the 800-foot contour. At approval it had 11 vineyards on about 160 acres, about 95% of them above 1,000 feet, and the petition reported spring days 5 to 10 °F cooler than Healdsburg (ATF, 2002). Pine Mountain-Cloverdale Peak (2011) covers 4,570 acres from 1,600 feet to the 3,000-foot summit, across the Mendocino line. Valley fog stays below it, it gets 30 to 60% more rain than the valley floor, and its vineyards are 5 to 20 acres (TTB, 2011).

Northern Sonoma is the umbrella name. Because an AVA name needs 85% of the fruit from that AVA, a blend of grapes from two northern valleys can use Northern Sonoma when neither valley reaches 85%. For homes in and around Healdsburg, see our Healdsburg real estate guide.

The coast: Sonoma Coast, West Sonoma Coast and Fort Ross-Seaview

The Sonoma Coast AVA (1987) reaches far inland. TTB describes it as the part of the county under strong marine influence, and its boundary touches the Mendocino, Marin and Napa county lines. It hasn’t changed since 1987. The association notes “more than twice the annual rainfall of its inland neighbors” and names Pinot Noir, Chardonnay and Syrah.

What changed with West Sonoma Coast in 2022

TTB approved the West Sonoma Coast AVA on May 23, 2022, effective June 22, 2022: about 141,846 acres with about 47 commercial vineyards on roughly 1,028 acres (TTB, 2022). It didn’t redraw Sonoma Coast; it carved a narrower coastal area out of it. TTB found the new area “more influenced by marine winds and fog” than land to the east, with cooler days, warmer nights and fewer growing degree days. Its terrain is steep Coast Range ridgeline, mostly 400 to 2,297 feet, with vineyards generally above 500 feet on thin, sandy soils over Franciscan bedrock.

The result for an owner is choice: grapes grown inside West Sonoma Coast are also inside Sonoma Coast and North Coast, so a winery can use the narrow name or a broader one.

Fort Ross-Seaview

Fort Ross-Seaview, approved December 14, 2011 and effective January 13, 2012, covers 27,500 acres entirely inside West Sonoma Coast. Most vineyards sit at about 920 to 1,800 feet, above fog that seldom rises past 900 feet, and the western boundary is 0.5 to 2.5 miles from the Pacific. Three petition vineyards averaged 2,580 to 2,615 growing degree days and harvested 11 to 26 days earlier than a lower vineyard near Annapolis (TTB, 2011). The association names Pinot Noir and Chardonnay.

Coastal ridge vineyards are few and small (the association counts 555 acres in Fort Ross-Seaview), and they’re remote and steep. Budget for road upkeep and water storage, and confirm with Permit Sonoma which permits apply before planning any planting or building.

Petaluma Gap and Los Carneros: the windy south

TTB approved the Petaluma Gap AVA on December 7, 2017, effective January 8, 2018. It covers about 202,476 acres in Sonoma and Marin, with 80 producing vineyards on about 4,000 acres and nine bonded wineries at approval (TTB, 2017). Wind defines it: low hills, generally under 600 feet, form a corridor for marine air between the Pacific and San Pablo Bay, and afternoon winds “increase significantly.” The petition linked that wind to smaller, thicker-skinned grapes and longer hang time.

The Sonoma part lies inside the Sonoma Coast AVA; the Marin part, about 68,130 acres, doesn’t, so Marin fruit can use Petaluma Gap and North Coast but not Sonoma Coast.

Los Carneros (1983) straddles the Sonoma-Napa line. TTB’s Coombsville decision described low rolling hills and flatlands at about 2,435 growing degree days, closer to the bay’s fog and later to harvest than Coombsville. The association names Chardonnay and Pinot Noir. Each side of the line follows its own county’s planting and winery rules; our guide to the Napa Valley appellations covers the Napa side.

Sonoma Valley, Moon Mountain, Sonoma Mountain, Bennett Valley and Fountaingrove

Sonoma Valley, approved December 4, 1981, is the county’s oldest AVA. The association credits Sonoma Mountain with shielding it from “the wet and cool influence” of the coast; TTB’s 2015 description calls it a large, broad valley with river-deposit soils, warmer than Fountaingrove.

  • Moon Mountain District Sonoma County (2013) covers about 17,663 acres inside Sonoma Valley along the Sonoma-Napa line, with about 1,500 vineyard acres and 11 bonded wineries at approval (TTB, 2013). The association gives elevations of 400 to 2,200 feet.
  • Sonoma Mountain (1985) lies wholly inside Sonoma Valley. The association names Cabernet Sauvignon, Chardonnay, Sauvignon Blanc, Sémillon, Pinot Noir and Zinfandel.
  • Bennett Valley (2003) covers 8,140 acres southeast of Santa Rosa, ringed on three sides by the Sonoma Mountain range, at 250 to 1,850 feet. The Crane Canyon gap admits coastal fog and breezes, and rainfall runs 17 to 25% above the areas just north and east (TTB, 2003). The association names Merlot, Syrah and Chardonnay.
  • Fountaingrove District (2015) covers about 38,000 acres with 35 vineyards on 500 acres: rolling hills and steeper southwest-facing slopes, volcanic and Franciscan soils, and shelter from the heaviest fog, moderate enough for Cabernet Sauvignon, Chardonnay and Zinfandel (TTB, 2015).

Glen Ellen lies inside the Sonoma Valley AVA; our Glen Ellen real estate guide covers its water, fire history and county rules.

How labelling rules use these names

Three rules decide whether fruit can carry a Sonoma place name, and so which wineries will pay for it.

  1. The 85% rule. A wine labelled with an AVA needs at least 85% of its volume from grapes grown there; a county name such as “Sonoma County” needs 75% (TTB).
  2. Conjunctive labelling. Since January 1, 2014, California has required wines labelled with an AVA lying entirely within Sonoma County to show “Sonoma County” too (AB 1798, 2010). Los Carneros, Petaluma Gap and Pine Mountain-Cloverdale Peak cross county lines, so ask label counsel how the rule treats them.
  3. Brand names. When TTB created the Calistoga AVA in 2009, existing “Calistoga” brand labels got a three-year transition rather than a permanent exemption (TTB, 2009). If a purchase includes a brand, check its name against the fruit’s AVA.

What an AVA doesn’t tell you: permits, water and slope

An appellation is a labelling boundary. It grants no planting rights, water or winery permit, and two parcels in one AVA can face very different rules.

QuestionWhere it appliesWhat to check
Can I plant or replant?CountywideA VESCO permit (the county’s vineyard and orchard site development ordinance) before work starts; applications after September 15 may not issue that year
Can I divert water for frost protection?Russian River watershedState rule 23 CCR 862 treats frost diversions as unreasonable outside an approved water demand management program
Is the well in a managed basin?Santa Rosa Plain, Sonoma Valley and Petaluma Valley basinsState-approved groundwater plans since January 2023; rural wells pay a groundwater fee on the tax bill
Can I rent the house to visitors?Unincorporated countyNot in Land Intensive Agriculture (LIA) zoning or on Williamson Act contract land
Is the land under contract?Williamson Act parcelsContracts bind later owners; early cancellation costs 12.5% of current market value

Our vineyard development and replanting guide sets out the VESCO process, and the Sonoma County vineyards for sale guide covers zoning, water and taxes.

What do Sonoma grapes sell for by appellation?

There’s no official price by AVA. The state’s crush report works by pricing district, and Sonoma shares District 3 with Marin. In the final 2025 report, District 3 grapes averaged $2,762.88 a ton, down 5.6% from 2024, on 186,845.8 tons (CDFA and USDA NASS), against $6,635.85 in Napa’s District 4.

District 3 average

$2,762.88

Per ton, 2025 crop, CDFA final report

Chardonnay, district vs spot

$2,370 vs $800

Per ton, 2025, Turrentine Brokerage

Bearing acres pulled

About 2,700

Sonoma County, Oct. 2024 to Aug. 2025, CAWG-commissioned report

Uncontracted Chardonnay sold for about a third of the Chardonnay district average in 2025, so a vineyard’s real income depends on its contracts, their terms and whether a new owner can take them over. Our vineyard valuation guide explains how contracts, vines and water feed into price.

How Diamond Real Estate Group uses appellations in a vineyard search

We start with the parcel, not the marketing name. We check the AVA boundary in the CFR and every name the fruit qualifies for, then what the appellation can’t tell you: VESCO history, the well and its basin, frost-water arrangements, zoning and any Williamson Act contract. Then we read the grape contracts against the district price. For the full process, see buying a vineyard in Napa or Sonoma, our vineyard due diligence checklist, the vineyards and wineries guide and our Sonoma County real estate guide.

Sonoma wine appellations: FAQs

How many AVAs are in Sonoma County?

Sonoma County Winegrowers counts 19, from Sonoma Valley (1981) to West Sonoma Coast (2022). All sit inside the multi-county North Coast AVA, which isn’t one of the 19.

What is the Alexander Valley appellation known for?

Cabernet Sauvignon, says Sonoma County Winegrowers, which lists about 15,000 vineyard acres there. The AVA dates from 1984 (27 CFR 9.53), and its north end overlaps the higher Pine Mountain-Cloverdale Peak AVA.

What’s the difference between Sonoma Coast and West Sonoma Coast?

Sonoma Coast (1987) covers a large part of the county, inland to the Napa line. West Sonoma Coast (2022) is a narrower ridge area of about 141,846 acres inside it, and its fruit can use either name.

Is the Petaluma Gap part of the Sonoma Coast AVA?

Partly. The Sonoma County portion is inside Sonoma Coast; the Marin portion, about 68,130 acres, isn’t. Both are inside the North Coast AVA.

What is Fort Ross-Seaview known for?

Vineyards above the fog. TTB put most of them at about 920 to 1,800 feet, within 0.5 to 2.5 miles of the ocean, and the association names Pinot Noir and Chardonnay.

If I buy land in an AVA, can my wine use that name?

Only if at least 85% of the wine comes from that AVA, and wine from an AVA wholly inside the county must also say “Sonoma County.” Making wine for sale also takes a federal bonded winery permit and a California winegrower license.

Can an AVA boundary change after I buy?

Yes. The Russian River Valley was enlarged in 2003, 2005 and 2011. Changes go through TTB rulemaking with public comment, so they’re announced in advance.

Can I run a vacation rental on a Sonoma vineyard property?

Not on Land Intensive Agriculture zoning or Williamson Act land in the unincorporated county. Where rentals are allowed, the county requires a permit, a certified property manager, a license and a tax number.

Sources & notes

This is general information, not legal or labelling advice; confirm a parcel’s AVA against the CFR and its permits with the county. Last reviewed October 2026 by Matthew Martinez.

A useful next step

Tell us the area, property type and timing you have in mind. We will help identify the information and next steps that fit your situation.

Compare Listings